Finding content

2 Jun

So now I have a blog site, I have played with the colour to my satisfaction and have almost sourced a suitable header photograph.

Fun as this has been I now face the challenge that I suspect has stopped me blogging before. What content can I find that will be of interest to the world? Luckily I have a topic, so off to prepare some content on a new Circ challenge for me: lending e book readers.

I have to trial at my Uni Library at present an Ecoreader, the Illyiad and some Kindles. (No, no iPad yet. It’s a sore point …..)
Staff have played with them and have their favourites, however as yet I haven’t got to the point of actually lending them. We don’t have many, and there are annoying little obstructions such as relevant content for an academic audience, how to loan, penalties for late (or no) return etc. Off to find out what other libraries have done about these lending issues.

4 Responses to “Finding content”

  1. Penny June 2, 2010 at 4:02 am #

    We lend laptops if you want to know about that 🙂 http://diligentroom.wordpress.com/2010/03/29/laptop-love/

    • restructuregirl June 2, 2010 at 6:00 am #

      Thanks Penny. We also lend laptops and that’s why from a lending pov I really want to think about the admin issues (boring to others I know) such as constantly handing them over the desk, recharging, previous users and penalties for late returns : – )

      I am wondering if we would have more problems of theft for iPads or other ebook readers?

  2. CW June 2, 2010 at 4:24 am #

    Oh, and when you work out what to do can you tell me?

    The content thing is the big problem I think.

    • restructuregirl June 2, 2010 at 6:01 am #

      Yeah – I was thinking maybe I should just put them up for loan with nothing much on them and see if students tell me what they want to do with them?

Leave a Reply

