Let them eat … bread!

5 Jun

I’m so excited. I’ve had all the tests and I’m NOT celiac!

I was so convinced I was, as I was cleared of the lactose and fruit sugar intolerances and this is almost all that was left. But it’s all clear.

I had bread and butter pudding for dinner last night. I had toast for breakfast. Just whipping up a sandwich for a late lunch now.

Funnily enough I didn’t realise my particular food addictions until they were threatened to be removed from me.

Milk is top of the list, then bread, then chocolate.

I’m amazed by this. If I’d had to name my favourites it would have been chocolate, orange juice and then hot chips. Wouldn’t have even had milk and bread in there. However once I had to stop eating them for tests I discovered I DREAM about bread. I hallucinate if it’s not around.

So today is a happy day : – )

7 Responses to “Let them eat … bread!”

  1. Sally June 5, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    That’s wonderful news!!

    I know what you mean about bread, I only miss it when I don’t have access to it 🙂

  2. Penny June 5, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    Yay!!!
    Maybe it’s soy?

  3. justgirlwithshoes June 5, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    That is great news, though I will say that there does seem to more out there to cater for celiacs. Most caterers are able to serve accordingly – but it is annoy to see the gluten free groceries are more expensive.
    Enjoy your bread & chocolate!

  4. snail June 5, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I hear on the bread – I would die if I had to give it up. No more brioche, or buns, or sweet delicacies, or french baguettes, or oh my, I need to stop now. And there is no fresh bread to be had right now.

  5. haikugirloz June 6, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Fan-freaking-tastic news. Bread, potatoes (fried) and fruit are my three favourite food groups.

  6. kate June 8, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    hey ruth, i’m wondering what made you think you were coeliac? did you have a high anti-gliaden? if you did, but you had a negative biopsy, i’d suggest chatting to a doctor about whether you should still go for gluten free. (also, did you cut out gluten for testing? cause that can give you a false negative.)

    i consistently have high anti-gliaden tests, but i’ve also had three negative biopsies over the years (though doctors tell me that a sample even a cm either side might yield a different result). there’s a new test to see if you have a gene or something for coeliac, but i haven’t done that as it runs in my family, so i’m pretty sure i know what the answer will be. so i’m labelled “gluten intolerant” and supposed to stick to a gluten free diet.

    the reality is, i feel a million times better when i eat gluten free – i have more energy, my hayfever is better, i get less headaches, and i just feel *well*. after a stint of eating gluten free, i can tolerate gluten okay for a little while. then i get back into all my bad habits (bread is my *life*) and it’s all downhill from there.

    my nutritionist told me that new research suggests that the long term effects of eating gluten when you’re intolerant might be the same as when you’re coeliac – and some of those long term effects are nasty. so maybe if you had a high anti-gliaden result, it might be worth reducing/cutting out gluten anyway? (i know, terrible thought – says she who has been blithely chomping on toasted cheese sandwiches three meals a day for the last couple of weeks… but if you are intolerant, you’ll feel loads better without it.)

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      Thanks Kate,

      I’ve had heaps of stomach cramps, and so this was one of about 6 different tests I had. Turns out I have a combination of reflux (something Latin) and irritable bowel. Am trialling different ways of dealing with these; turns out to be stress related (surprise, surprise) and about eating smaller meals. I tend to comfort eat when stressed, so all makes sense, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy to change : – )

      Cheers, Ruth

Leave a Reply

