Morning people

8 Jun

I got up at 6:45 this morning to be awake for the guy coming at 7:30 to grind down 3 stumps in my backyard. It wasn’t even light!

It’s fantastic that the job is done, but it amazes me that so many people can get up early regularly. I’m going into work on public transport now & I’m already falling asleep.

I know you’re just supposed to move your timetable around & go to bed earlier, but I just can’t. Late at night is when you catch up in things, get stuff done. If I got up earlier I’d just go to work earlier.

Anyway, lucky I got this post in now. I think by lunchtime I won’t be able to keep my eyes open.

12 Responses to “Morning people”

  1. haikugirloz June 8, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    My alarm goes off at 5.25 am. Gym 6.00am or if riding to work out the door by 6.30 am. I am a morning person but I need to be in bed by 9.30 pm. That is the downside.

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2010 at 1:16 am #

      I don’t even get to the gym at night!

  2. snail June 8, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    I hear ya so loud. My body conspired against me and decided to start waking up at 5am…thereby forcing me to fall asleep at 10.30pm. It was a declaration of war. The fight will be long and hard; filmfest has started pushing the body back. But it’s only a small victory, a few battles, the war itself could go either way. Early days yet on the battlefield, neither side willing to give to the other. It will be a long and hard fought campaign.

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2010 at 1:15 am #

      Ooh – even harder to fight when in darkened room fir filmfest!

  3. bookgrrl June 8, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    Monday to Friday I am usually up at 5.30am to get to the gym or 5am on the mornings I work. Saturday is a sleep in to 6.30 for the gym and Sundays are all over the place- usually 7.30 which is when the kids arise.
    I love the early mornings for the quiet- it feels like my time. Unfortunately like haikugirloz, I’m nodding off by 9.30. Them’s the breaks!

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2010 at 3:09 am #

      Funny. I got into evenings because it was one of the times you could actually get work done without interruptions. Quiet is variable I guess.

  4. strawberriesofintegrity June 8, 2010 at 2:12 am #

    I get up at 6am weekdays – I’m hating it at the moment as it’s dark, but 2 dogs await. I walk for 45-90 mins with my husband 3 mornings a week and a girlfriend the other two mornings. If I don’t do it – the day just doesn’t seem right. Good time to get myself right with the day, organise my thoughts. Dark, cold morning suck at the moment though (will get up at 6.30 around solstice- our concession to winter!). I need to be in bed by 10. Weekends anything goes – I frequently can’t sleep in but will happily doze and/or read for hours and hours – depends on what is happening.

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      My Mum does too. Been spending some time with her recently, and she walks with someone from her street each morning. I need exercise. Wonder if I could do this once a week and work up? Perhaps if I’m still asleep it won’t feel so much like effort!

  5. nomesd June 8, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    I am 100% a night person. I won’t even say evening because I don’t really start to enjoy myself till about 8.30pm and 10.30pm is still early in my book. Which makes 7.30am starts very difficult for me – in fact my 9am starts are very difficult! I’m lucky that we have some flexibility at work and if I work late it seems to be ok if I rock up at around 9.30-10, but it’s a real issue, especially in QLD where EVERYONE seems to be a morning person!

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      How horrid. A state where EVERYONE is a morning person. Probably all that early sunlight ….

  6. Kathryn Greenhill June 8, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Nope – nightowl here, in a house full of larks. My body clock is happy if I want to get up (or am forcibly awakened) at 6am… it just claims a 1pm – 3pm nap or makes my brain so fuzzy it may as well be asleep. My brain really only kicks in at 5:30pm if I need it to do any thinking work and 9:30pm – 12:30am are my most productive times.

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

      Maybe I can tap into my younger self, and tell myself a 6am start is really an all nighter with a little nap inbetween …

Leave a Reply

