The TV meme

11 Jun

Before I did this meme I would honestly have said that I didn’t watch that much tv ….
Now I know different! thanks @malbooth

What is your favourite TV show?
Umm – it’s so hard to choose. Probably Foyle’s War at present. Well equal first with Shameless.

What TV show makes you run to change channels?

Any reality show where they put on tv people who don’t know they are excruciatingly bad at something, and then tell them in front of an audience in order to crush their dreams. So Idol, X-Factor etc
How do you view your TV guide: online, on-screen, newspaper, magazine, other?
It comes on the screen on my tv. Oh and I get those ABC weekly email alerts.
Have you ever been surveyed for your TV-viewing habits or do you know anyone who has been?
No, but it sounds fun. And would finally bring some balance to those reviews in favour of ABC/SBS.
I used to think a fun job would be rating films and tv series, until I saw a documentary about it and discovered it’s like reading a good book for English class, it ruins the content for you as you can’t immerse yourself in it, you’ve got to read it removed so you can make notes about style and themes. Or in the ratings case notes about swearing and sex.

Do you watch TV news and/or current affairs regularly?
No. I think it’s all too depressing now. Anyway I think those 5 min updates on ABC news before a program give you as much as the whole earlier 30 mins of news program.
I do love an ABC online news feed at present that gives you random news articles. So fun – sometimes I read about pumpkin scone poisoning in Qld, sometimes about Kevin Rudd.

Do you watch any TV “soaps”? (Truth please, even if it is embarrassing.)

Gray’s Anatomy, Private Practice – Mind you if I don’t see these whilst channel flicking I don’t miss them, but if it comes across the screen I become engrossed, and can’t turn it off.
When I was at residential college for Uni we watched Melrose Place every week with half the house crammed into the tv common room. We talked through the whole thing, but it was fun. The irony of watching as a shared college a group of people who all chose to live in the same building together was lost on us though at that time.
What other series shows do you try not to miss?
The BIll – been watching that one for years.
Dr. Who – of course!!!
Amazing Race – adore this for the awful American factor. Fabulous.
Wife Swap – British series was fantastic, however no longer on, only American version. That’s not as good but I still HAVE to see it.
The Good Wife
Hamish Macbeth
Rush
QI
Teachers
Being Erica (argue with the content a lot but learn from it)
I didn’t have a tv in my house until I was 14 (Mum’s rules) but once we got one we watched a LOT of Britsh comedy. My Mum is English, and my Dad’s family just enjoyed it. I remember at college being asked to “interpret” what the Hamish Macbeth characters were saying!
Any previous series or shows you really liked?
A Country Practice & The Flying Doctors – these were the first tv shows I was allowed to watch and it was very exciting to finally be able to talk to other kids at school about it (for years I had had to try and keep up in my head the names of characters from listening to others)
The Goodies (just for the silliness and fun of it all)
Yes Minister (at the time because it actually got me interested in politics; now because it explains so much of the public service in which I work)
Press Gang (for the brilliant characters that were allowed in the children) and Degrassi Junior High as well for that
Queer as Folk (American version cause we never got the British one)
Moonlighting (for the silliness and the suspense each week – will they …)
Police Rescue (because I loved Gary Sweet back then)
This Life (for depicting life as a series of cockups that you survive and move on from)
Do you have pay TV or are the digital channels enough?
Digital channels only (my Mum didn’t believe in TV when we were kids, so I think it’s self indulgent enough to watch tv when I want, but it would be wicked to spend MONEY on it!)
Do you only watch certain TV shows online?
Nope
Do you regularly use services like ABC catch-up or other online replays?
Only if I forget to record something

Do you ever pay any attention to the adverts?
No that’s when you get up to get more chocolate, go to the toilet or write stuff online. Or when you record everything you can press the magic skip button on the remote 3 times and it’s like the ads are never there.

Do you multi-task while watching TV & if so what else are you doing?
I used to – be online, cook, clean etc This year I am trying to watch tv without the distraction if I can. Supposed to calm me down a bit.
Is there a TV show that makes you laugh out loud?
Shameless
Have you ever said no to a social invitation to stay at home and watch TV? (Truth again please.) Mind telling us what the show was?
Absolutely. All that being deprived of tv when I was younger set up a craving in me, so pre video recorders I was awful.
I was late to any college outing on a Sat night so I could stay in and watch The Bill.
I missed a friend’s birthday party during the Hamish MacBeth first season.
I turned down 3 drinks nights when British Wife Swap was on.
Do you record TV shows & if so why and how (VCR, DVD recorder, TIVO, laptop, etc.)?
I’ve got a PVR (personal video recorder which I don’t understand as it’s not video …) I recorded everything on it before I bought my big new tv, but as it’s not HD I now try and watch things live where I can.
Least favourite TV personality/actor/character?
the boys in Little Britain (this makes me incomprehensible to half the world apparently)
Most popular TV personalities/actors/character?
Brian Kenny (QAF) for the wonderful revelation that you can be successful and still not give a fuck what anyone else thinks of you if you have your own clear moral compass
Stephen Fry for making a tv show about interesting words

Have you ever seen anything really memorable on TV (not news/events – made for TV drama, etc.)?

Molly dying of cancer on ACP (I think Tony had this one too). It was the first time I had seen them depict someone’s dying as not focussed on the dying person, but rather through their eyes.
The Good Life – This gave me the ability to laugh at the middle class pretensions surrounding me in Ballarat as I grew up, rather than get so angry.

Do you prefer TV series or stand-alone shows?
Either as long as it’s good.

Is there a specific show you find yourself recommending over and over?
No because my friends very rarely watch what I do so I don’t do a lot of recommending.

2 Responses to “The TV meme”

  1. justgirlwithshoes June 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Wow, your post has take me back in time. Melrose! A girlfriend and I would sit on the phone watching, talking only in ad breaks. Our partners never got it. As well I had a parentally controlled TV upbringing with loads of British TV, and was never a part of conversations at school as I wasn’t allowed to watch the cool shows. For me, finally seeing ‘Prisoner’ was akin to being knighted with the cool stick. Thanks – really enjoyed your offering.

  2. Ruth Baxter June 12, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Aah – wonderful to meet another graduate of that Australian style of parenting. We need a T-Shirt don’t we, Child of British tellie parents.

Leave a Reply

