Things I learnt today

12 Jun

Today was a fun day.

Pottery class in the morning, #creativebarter lunch including a free crochet lesson from the ever patient @haikugirlOz, iceskating for my sister’s birthday in the afternoon, evening great chat with @flexnib. Soon bed I think.

All about learning so here’s a list of observations on that theme today:

  • even after 4 years of pottery training, you can still put holes in things if you’re talking too much to other people
  • I will try new things with friends without feeling the pressure of needing to have an outcome
  • crochet is one of those many skills where you need to think less about what you are doing to get right!
  • different learning styles are really interesting when you’re not trying to get some information across in a timeline
  • any group of people will never learn tasks at the same rate
  • It can be good to enjoy the process more, and worry less about the outcome
  • everyone in the world is more patient than me
  • those A ha! [not the band] moments are fabulous, whether for major projects or minor {eg when I finally got that when @haikugirlOz said pull the hook through, she meant PULL the hook through}
  • I could cheer myself up at work by making possible more of those Aha! opportunities with my staff
  • Iceskating is for people who have much THICKER ankles than mine
  • Persistence pays off
  • Even when you think you know everything about someone they can surprise you
  • My sense of balance is nil
  • Trying something new (or revisiting something old) can really give you a lift, a sense of moving forward
  • If someone tells you often enough the sky is green, even when you know it’s blue, you can start to second guess yourself or feel unsettled. At those times it’s great to have someone who also looks at the sky with you from the same place and says “It’s blue. They have a weird way of looking at things don’t they”.

So here’s hoping I can keep some of these gentle lessons learnt today, in my head once back in the busier work environment. To help I will have a new special picture of my sister, sailing around the iceskating rink with poise and confidence. After I left home for Uni she did all sorts of things I don’t know about, and going to the ice skating rink was one. Turns out it’s a skill that comes back to her easily.

5 Responses to “Things I learnt today”

  1. kate June 13, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    ruth, what a delightful post. thanks for sharing your learnings. i think i probably need to adopt all of them for myself.

  2. bookgrrl June 13, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    It sounds like a fabulous day, and you learnt so much as well. Good luck with the crocheting 🙂

  3. Tony June 13, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    Yes, a delightful post. I might print this off and stick it on the fridge 🙂

  4. Penny June 13, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    I do like your vocalisation of your learning today. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday synopsis – 30 posts in 30 days: day 12 | Libraries Interact - June 13, 2010

    […] posts yesterday really struck a chord with me. One of these was a post from Ruth, on her learnings from a day of crafty barter and other fun. This eloquent post is full of lots of little gems, like “It can be good to enjoy the process […]

Leave a Reply

