Today’s moments

20 Jun

This morning’s post on RFID has gone up as 19th so here is a quick one for 20th, thanks to LibraryDwarf for the format!

1 good thing: Got to the Farmers Market this morning before all the unhomogenised milk had sold out. I’m addicted – reminds me of real milk as a kid with swirly bits of cream floating in it. Apparently it has exactly the same cream content as homogenised milk, but it hasn’t been shaken up.

1 bad thing: I still don’t understand WordPress. I think I need to go back to Blogger. I can’t get the time right on my blog (if set to Melbourne it is out by 3 hours; if manual it is out by 27 mins). Also I can’t understand how to move from scheduled to publish now for blog posts. Tried 4 times with mine this morning and then just put it in as yesterday. Muttered at the screen at lot inbetween soccer halves.

1 thing I learnt today: When you buy berry vines that have been striked, they are often sold from stored bins of sawdust, where their root systems are kept wet. Apparently you are supposed to wash off all the sawdust when you get home and want to plant them. I had thought it was like extra compost and left it on the 3 I bought last year. Perhaps that is why 2 of them didn’t survive? Hopefully will be more successful in the spring with today’s purchases (youngberry and raspberry).

Today’s link: Learn about the “raw milk” debate, which argues that we should now be able to buy cows milk unpasteurised. In Victoria we could buy it as “bath milk” (to bathe in like Cleopatra) legally, but not as a food product. There are dairy farmers in my family and I understand the reasons for pasteurisation – having said that we always got to drink raw milk at home. The Wikipedia summary is useful for background, however it’s the discussion page that offers the insight into the passions of some on this topic.

5 Responses to “Today’s moments”

  1. Penny June 20, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    we used to fight over the “top milk” back in the days when we got milk in glass bottles delivered by the milk man. In those days you could get silver top, blue top, cream and that was all. Mum used to get silver top which was full cream but not homogenized so getting the cream on your ricies was coveted. I still have fond memories of the taste and feel of crunchy ricies with smooth creamy cream…..

  2. bookgrrl June 20, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    My husband grew up on a dairy farm in South Gippsland. He remembers his mum topping up the coffee from the thermos with warm milk straight from the cow while doing the milking!

    • Ruth Baxter June 21, 2010 at 3:24 am #

      It’s good to see my memories are shared!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging your platform « Opinions from an OPL - June 21, 2010

    […] @shewgirl asking for advice about experiences with blogging platforms, a post over the weekend from Ruth bemoaning the fact that she still doesn’t understand wordpress (neither do I Ruth, it’s […]

  2. Blogging your platform | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum? - January 20, 2014

    […] @shewgirl asking for advice about experiences with blogging platforms, a post over the weekend from Ruth bemoaning the fact that she still doesn’t understand wordpress (neither do I Ruth, it’s […]

Leave a Reply

