Tell us a story – #Octshowntell

30 Sep

October’s learning challenge from the Flexible Understanding Now Network (FUNN) has had a fair bit of commentary. Ideas included vlogging, crafting QR codes and Inbox Zero strategies. Then cutting edge @MissSophieMac scooped the pool with the idea of digital storytelling. For those of you (like me) who’ve never heard of this visit Wikipedia on the topic. It has the benefit of allowing people who are not yet comfortable with flashing their face on the web a cloak to screen themselves.

So the challenge for October is at present #Octshowntell – 1 a week (4 in total).
Tell any story you like (can be work related, pets, recipes) with visual (show) and audio (tell).

5/10 Vimeo groups works now (unlike YouTube groups)
so please add your stories to
http://vimeo.com/groups/octshowntell
(to join choose restructuregirl as a contact & I will add you to the group!)
or show and tell on your own blogs and twitter the link with the tag #octshowntell

Now the important question is DO I HAVE ANY TAKERS?

Keep in mind that I rely on FUNN for entertainment these days, so if I don’t get enough tweeps playing this I shall nag you all into a variant of @flexnib’s reading challenge ; with a designated weekly reading on library studies with expected reports for discussion online from all.

For those who like the details:

Intro to vlogging – http://twitcam.livestream.com/24a1t or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7Z7OJxnSoQ

Digital storytelling tools – Storybird, animoto, xtranormal, glogster, voicethread, animasher, makebelievecomics, vuvox, prezi
Example : http://prezi.com/7okmswx_ex40/power-of-storytelling/

4/10 #Octshowntell first entrants

Jo at http://storybird.com/books/four-day-weekend/

Tony at http://animoto.com/play/zplIYseCt6LH1PH0umWgwQ

32 Responses to “Tell us a story – #Octshowntell”

  1. @flexnib September 30, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    OI, don’t diss my reading challenge! 😀

    But yes, I will be in on this storytelling thing. I don’t know how many I will manage to do but I will do my best. I will need to work out what camera to use…

    • Ruth Baxter September 30, 2010 at 7:38 am #

      I wasn’t dissing YOUR reading challenge. I was threatening a studious variant of it.
      Although @newgradlibrarian is tempting me to try it anyway. Perhaps 2011 challenge …

  2. kim September 30, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    i’m in…

  3. Hoi September 30, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    Wow that look like a great way to share sories and to pick up new tools!!!! That got me thinking.

  4. NewGradLibrarian September 30, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    I’m in too 🙂

    Although I am currently reading ‘Practical pedagogy for library instructors: 17 innovative strategies to improve student learning’ if anyone would like to me discuss……

    • Ruth Baxter September 30, 2010 at 7:36 am #

      Ooh – want to send me a copy? It sounds like something FUNN would enjoy – or do an alt commentary on!

  5. Kate September 30, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    can I say I *think* I”m in? hopefully will do 4…big month 😦

    • Ruth Baxter September 30, 2010 at 7:33 am #

      Of course. No pressure.
      Although I bet once we’ve inspired you, 4 will probably be easy!

  6. jo September 30, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    I’m in – can’t wait!

  7. CeridwynatUni October 2, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Hi Ruth
    I’m an INN333er with Kate Davis, and I’m going to attempt this October challenge with you all. I must admit, your ‘Blog every day in June’ challenge, Pirate Hat Wednesday etc sounded fun too! ( And as for QRCodes, mine is at: http://qrcode.kaywa.com/img.php?s=8&d=Ceridwyn%20BloxhamGoodOldTalk.com%20Bloxham%20Global%20Enterprises%20Pty%20Ltd559%20Bells%20Creek%20RoadBells%20Creek%20QLD%20 – I generated it just last week!)

    But I’m a little confused though… I was playing with Prezi.com yesterday, and noticed that Prezis don’t support audio throughout the presentation, but only as short spots on the path of the presentation. And Storybird, the other example I was interested in, also doesn’t support audio throughout. So will it matter if the ‘digital stories’ we contribute to the October challenge don’t have an audio aspect to them?

    • Ruth Baxter October 2, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      Hi Ceridwyn – That’s fine. You can tell I haven’t explored them properly! Story of any sort will be fine. I’ll decide today where we shall store them all, as Youtube groups is no longer supported so I can’t add any of you, and Flickr only offers 90 secs of video. Will update soon

      • CeridwynatUni October 2, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

        Thanks, Ruth. I look forward to getting your update. By the way, I couldn’t get some of your links (in the list of ‘digital storytelling tools’) to work?

      • Ruth Baxter October 3, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

        Thanks for that – foolishly forgot the http in front of a few. Should all be linking correctly now.
        Am experimenting with vimeo groups but not yet live. Will have a group soon! Thanks for your patience.

      • CeridwynatUni October 5, 2010 at 12:53 am #

        Hi Ruth
        My first ‘story’ is at http://prezi.com/js8coo04jcfs/the-copyright-story/. It’s the first half of the Prezi – but seeing as the presentation as a whole is something I’m using with my Middle School classes this week, I apologise for the ho-hum topic! Hope you enjoy it anyway…

      • Ruth Baxter October 5, 2010 at 4:41 am #

        Ooh lovely CeridwynatUni – I want to try a Prezi for work so this will help me. I think I have Vimeo groups working now so try requesting to join http://vimeo.com/groups/octshowntell/ and let me know how that goes : – )

  8. Tony October 4, 2010 at 3:01 am #

    Animoto was *FUNN* and easy, so if you’re stuck on where to start I’d give it a go. One thing I found out, if you go back and edit your video it actually creates a whole new video with a new URL. So if you’re playing around, wait until you’re happy then delete all the old copies and post the final one.

    • Ruth Baxter October 4, 2010 at 4:33 am #

      LOL – thanks for that advice Tony. I could’ve left quite a trail of my many first takes.

  9. bookgrrl October 4, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    Am in the midst of an assignment, but what the hell? Anything for a challenge, and a laugh, and a dsitraction…

  10. David October 12, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    I’m late… & in!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Telling stories « Opinions from an OPL - October 1, 2010

    […] it’s another creative, collaborative, fun learning challenge from my libraryland PLN.  This time it’s story telling. #Octshowntell is designed to get us thinking about and using Web 2.0 storytelling […]

  2. October Show n Tell « Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum? - October 1, 2010

    […] Show n Tell Jump to Comments I’m involved in another active learning activity through my Personal Learning Network – this time we are creating stories using Web 2.0 […]

  3. INN333 course site | Blog | An invitation to participate in a digital storytelling challenge! - October 1, 2010

    […] post your digital stories to your blog and tag them with #octshowntell. I also suggest you drop a comment on this blog post, which explains the whole thing. And, I’d also suggest you follow some of the other […]

  4. Four day weekend « Macaronic - October 3, 2010

    […] stories using a variety of digital storytelling techniques. @retructuregirl has written a great post about some of the tools we can use, and the use of #octshowntell hashtag. So the challenge for […]

  5. And now for something completely different… « There she goes - October 5, 2010

    […] the month of October there is the #octshowntell, dreamed up by @restrucuregirl. This incorporates video blogging or using digital storytelling […]

  6. Fun with Prezi! « Ceridwyn's 'Critical Discussion' blog - October 5, 2010

    […] INN533er here?!)) and doing it very successfully, too, I might add. Kate’s suggestion to join the October digital storytelling challenge has been a funn one – check out what I have created with Prezi just last weekend! (Yes, I […]

  7. October show’n’tell #octshowntell « Bonito Club - October 6, 2010

    […] 6 October 2010 by Tony The October Twitter challenge is to explore digital story telling and video blogging — see Bookgrrl’s elegant explanation here and see lots more info in @retructuregirl’s blog post. […]

  8. #Octshowntell « Creative Circ - October 8, 2010

    […] you don’t know what this is read my blog entry on the new […]

  9. Sharing stories « Opinions from an OPL - October 8, 2010

    […] and creating stories as part of #octshowntell has been the fun, creative and almost easy part.  However, as @restructuregirl has pointed out, […]

  10. Great expectations « Ceridwyn's 'Critical Discussion' blog - October 30, 2010

    […] recently, the value of this became really obvious to me, when I took up Kate’s challenge to join #octshowntell – playing with technologies in a group of supportive, tweeting Librarians. Being part of this was […]

  11. Sharing stories | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum? - January 20, 2014

    […] and creating stories as part of #octshowntell has been the fun, creative and almost easy part.  However, as @restructuregirl has pointed out, […]

  12. Telling stories | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum? - January 20, 2014

    […] it’s another creative, collaborative, fun learning challenge from my libraryland PLN.  This time it’s story telling. #Octshowntell is designed to get us thinking about and using Web 2.0 storytelling […]

Leave a Reply

