Can blogging lead to research?

2 Jun

I mentioned yesterday that I had originally seen blogging as a challenge, yet then found through the discipline of daily blogging that I learnt the benefits. Many of the other blogs taking part in #blogjune have also been talking about the positives of coming back to an online community.

So I thought I’d explore some of the positives that come from what is actually a very active online community of librarians.

The obvious is networking. Recently I tried crowdsourcing topics for #VALA2011 It was useful in terms of ideas and engagement with future audiences; and it also gave me a quick snapshot of the breadth others might expect from topics I thought were focussed clearly on a specific area.  Also I received advice about relevant research papers from a range of people in a fraction of the time it would have taken to find them myself.

I am an interactive person (attention seeker is so judgemental :-)), so sitting writing on my own is not a high motivator for me. Therefore a real benefit was that I also received offers from other people interested in the ideas about co-presenting with me, or mentoring me by editing.

With work piling up I didn’t get any abstracts developed. However the sense of research had engaged me more than it has before. Through Twitter, I learnt of an emerging research networking tool called academia.edu From following friends and topics of interest through this I have expanded my resources and contacts, again in a relatively short time period.

Perhaps one day soon I may even write a paper that is longer than a blog post 😉

5 Responses to “Can blogging lead to research?”

  1. Penny June 2, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    One could always write an abstract in a quieter time which would then be ready to submit 🙂 There is still time to submit for LIANZA in Wellington this year – the deadline is 6th June.

    • Ruth Baxter June 2, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Ooh! And I have always wanted to go to LIANZA. Apparently it’s a great conference.

      • snail June 3, 2011 at 3:50 am #

        I totally ❤ LIANZA and can strongly recommend it. Hoping to make it this year myself.

  2. NewGradLibrarian June 5, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    I really look forward to following you on this exploration of ‘can blogging lead to research?’ – maybe we can do a paper on it together some time!!

    • Ruth Baxter June 6, 2011 at 12:19 am #

      Haha. Maybe. No research so far …. unless you count pick up lines 🙂

Leave a Reply

