Rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb (the filler post already)

6 Jun

So tonight I am cheating and giving you a recipe. (When do we get to the fabulous stuff about circ I hear you ask? Not until I have a lot less work on 🙂 )

My garden is producing fabulous rhubarb. It would be nice if I could have inserted a photo of said gorgeous rhubarb at this point, but I seem to write all my blog posts at the last moment and it is now too dark and cold to take a photo in the garden.

So rhubarb. Not everyone’s favourite but one of mine, especially with or in vanilla icecream.

I’ve always stewed it before. Which means if you have ADD like me, you have to be careful or all the flavour just sloshes away in the water. Or conversely the rhubarb absorbs too much water, ends up falling apart and tastes of nothing.

So the whole point of this post, the “recipe” as such, is that I have learnt the amazing fact that you can ROAST rhubarb.

Perhaps not earthshattering for the rest of you, but let’s face it you are still reading this post, so you can’t have much else to be shattered by. For me the simple assumption since childhood that there is only 1 way to cook rhubarb is now gone forever; my mind awakened to new, tasty options.

So, to roast your rhubarb:

Heat oven to 180 degrees. Roast for 10-15 mins (test by seeing if it is soft to the touch with a fork)

For those that love their rhubarb fully flavoured – cook plain, or with lightly drizzled honey.

For those that prefer the tartness a little less enhanced – sprinkle with the juice of an orange, some castor sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon.

Image of Roasted rhubarb a la naturale

Roasted rhubarb a la naturale

Yum, yum, yum.

Come summer I may add pieces of this to the icecream maker ….

Ironically for this post, conceived due to lack of other ideas, “rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb” was allegedly one of the things you mumble over and over when you are playing the role of an extra in a play. It gives the sound of talking in the background without actually have stray real words emerge to draw attention from the main characters dialogue.

4 Responses to “Rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb (the filler post already)”

  1. snail June 6, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    ooooh, rhubarb is one of my favourite desserts. I keep meaning to stew some myself but never quite get round to it. Roasting sounds intriguing.

  2. KatieTT June 7, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    I always stewed but baked for the first time last year – and love…quite different but altogether rhubarby goodness

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      Will still be stewing for wonderful rhubarb crumble, but good to have other rhubarby options

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 6 Roundup – visiting neighbours and friends | Libraries Interact - June 6, 2011

    […] roasted rhubarb (Ruth) […]

Leave a Reply

