Bookclub

7 Jun

Last night I had my bookclub.

Visitors to this blog last year will remember I started it for a group of friends, mainly old Uni mates who had just had children and were looking for some social interaction again.

I have enjoyed it way more than I ever expected, even though I have really only liked reading 2 of our 18 books so far ๐Ÿ™‚ We have a lot of talk about themes in the books selected, and our own opinions of the writing style (no literary pretensions though). We’re also getting more relaxed about the format. I’m really looking forward to later this year when one of the topics is “Guilty Pleasures”. The idea is we all bring our favourite comfort trash reading and swap around, then discuss them the following month.

Last night’s book was by Penelope Lively “Making it Up”. It was an interesting premise that didn’t quite deliver on the possibilities as we had hoped. It’s a series of short stories which start with a small extract of the author’s life, and are then followed by a fictional account of how her life would have varied if she had made a different choice, or taken a different path.

Got me thinking about my own life and the offshoots I still have in front of me. Perhaps I need to take some time out and think about choices ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Responses to “Bookclub”

  1. NewGradLibrarian June 7, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Snap! I’ve just written a post about my book club, still a draft, will publish tomorrow or the next day.

    Mine’s been going with more or less the same people for more than 10 years now – although I must admit it’s not got a whole lot to do with books anymore. It’s a safe place to drink red wine and talk – we’ve been through babies, divorces, re-marriages, the death of a child, breast cancer, ageing parents, holidays, weekends away, property sales – you name it, we talk about it! Who needs stories when you’ve got real life seems to have become our motto ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ruth Baxter June 7, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      We can do that before and after, but are being nice and strict about talking about the book, or themes related to the book, during the actual session. Keeps us talking about new things ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. KatieTT June 7, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Love my bookclub- we’ve been going for 8 or 9 years- and yes- lots has happened in that time. I just love mine because it’s a bunch of women that I don’t see that much out of bookclub- but once a month we get together and talk and talk and talk.
    I am asways quite wired when I get home, late night anyway, and lots to talk about and think over …
    and the books are great too- read stuff I never would have thought about reading!

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      absolutely. My own chosen reading is chick lit, btu I am reading a much wider range now thanks to my bookclub ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. MissSophieMac June 8, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    I wrote about my bookclub yesterday too!!! I love my bookclub which started about 2 1/2 years ago and has ended up being a core of about 5 with occasional ringins. We talk about the books but we talk about other stuff too and we’ve all become alot closer friends because of our monthly meetings!

    • Ruth Baxter June 8, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      Has reinvigorated old friendships for me too.

Leave a Reply

