Marvellous Melbourne post 2 – Daylesford

17 Jun

So I have a long weekend this weekend. Yay. I’m off to Daylesford with some friends from Uni. We go once a year, hire a house, take some wine and just thoroughly unwind.

This year we are staying at Beecroft House, and I can highly recommend the Daylesford Cottage Directory if anyone else wants to organise a weekend there. They are highly tolerant of continuous phone calls, changes of mind and request for more information about number of beds etc 🙂

Anyway Daylesford is another feature of Marvellous Melbourne really. Cause it’s all about the many places you can go to for your weekends whilst based here …

I’m all booked in for massage packages as Daylesford has long been spa central for Victoria, although there is now another option down on the Mornington Peninsula apparently. Growing up in Ballarat I’ve been visiting the mineral springs in Daylesford since I was a child, and screwing up my face at the taste that long too! My Dad swears by it though …

However there is no doubt that it’s been seriously upgraded over the years. The old mineral springs area is still there, with plenty of picnic space for visitors; but the old shed like arrangement for the spa in Hepburn Springs is now a major complex. Shopping in the main street is seriously upmarket and restaurants abound.

There are still 2 serious second hand bookshops going strong though – so I will no doubt be indulging in some retail therapy myself over the weekend. One is down on the Lake and offers hours of browsing by subject, the other on the main street a little more modern and still as fun for serendipitous finds.

So as I’m on crappy Optus I doubt you’ll get a post from me this weekend – but I’ll be sure to put up some photos soon next week so you can all be inspired to get away yourselves soon to somewhere relaxing 🙂

10 Responses to “Marvellous Melbourne post 2 – Daylesford”

  1. Gemma June 17, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    Daylesford is gorgeous. I LOVE Chowder House in Hepburn!

    • Ruth Baxter June 22, 2011 at 12:39 am #

      Will have to try it out next time. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Mal Booth June 17, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    Jealous. I’m just jealous.

    • Ruth Baxter June 17, 2011 at 1:38 am #

      Thankyou. That males it SO much sweeter 🙂

  3. Steph June 17, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Have a wonderful time! I love the Sunday trash and treasure market- you get the best eggs and honey there 🙂

    • Ruth Baxter June 22, 2011 at 12:39 am #

      Resisted the need to purchase extra food this time around, but did benefit from the bookshop 🙂

  4. Kathryn Lindsay June 18, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Sounds lovely Ruth: hope you enjoy it! I’m off to see ‘Source Code’ tomorrow at Cinema Nova with a friend and am excited 🙂

  5. apubliclibrarian June 20, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I love Daylesford – lovely walks, parks, coffee, massages…ah bliss – i hope you had a great weekend

    • Ruth Baxter June 22, 2011 at 12:38 am #

      Fantastic. I am feeling very calm and centred now.

Leave a Reply

