My love affair with evidence based decision making

24 Jun

Years ago I had a supervisor who talked often and seriously to me about making non-emotional decisions and not necessarily needing to implement them straight away “to get into the action”. He finds it amusing now I’m sure when I talk about my love of the idea of evidence based decision making.

However even then I had a need to make decisions based on a known aim and considered output.

In other words I only wanted to implement changes that resulted from a clearly identified goal; “let’s review the fines policy” annoys me. Not to say it doesn’t have it’s place in strategic planning discussions …. just not at the action level. “Let’s review the fines policy to reduce student fines”, or “Lets review the fines policy to create more self service options” is more what I like.

And I wanted the solutions we trialled to be an effective match with their intended audience. Of course you can’t always get it right, but instead of just brainstorming ideas and trialling them; having some customer feedback to identify solutions, or some user assessment feedback, some statistics or other data, and using that for your recommended solutions.

So now I am going to try and fit in some time learning more about the facts of evidence based decision making.

I’m starting with reading the journal “Evidence Based Library and Information Practice“. Send me your suggestions for more.

One Response to “My love affair with evidence based decision making”

  1. Sarah July 9, 2012 at 2:17 am #

    this applies to far more fields than libraryland. Coud do with a bit more over hereo nthe Dark Side of IT

Leave a Reply

