When did Australian birth certificates become available as extracts?

2 Jun

I’m crowdsourcing the answer to this question, or resources you believe would give me this answer.

Please add your thoughts in the comments.

Why am I asking?

Earlier this week I got to attend a conference called Communities in Control. It was a very engaging conference and for tweets of those who attended see #wearecic

There were a great range of speakers there, and several themes. The two I have taken are

  1. If you want to do something, scope it out and start. (also known as JUST DO IT!)
  2. Fear Factor 16. Think about the things that really scare you, and try one every day for 2016.

Interestingly, besides the swimming in a tank with sharks kind of scary, most of the things that scare me enough to ensure I don’t try them, are everyday challenges that are possible.

Today I realised it has been a very very very long time since I have answered a reference desk question. My job is now very much behind the scenes of a library, the systems and processes that help people answer questions at a reference desk, but not actually the process of answering them. So I have now reached a point where I hesitate before helping out. I decide that someone else will be more capable than me.

So tomorrow’s Fear Factor is to work my way slowly through a real reference question, kindly provided by a friend. Today’s Fear Factor is to ask friends for help. Two for the price of one.

The reason this question is interesting, is that in Britain when partial birth extracts became available, they provided the parents’ name, child’s date of birth, but no statement about the parents’ marriage. Therefore illegitimate children could use these extracts to hide from the stigma when dealing with agencies. There was a passionate discussion about it in the Houses of Parliament. To find out if the same discussion occurred in Australia my friend needs to know when it occurred.

Good luck everyone confronting your own little challenges, and please provide me any answers or tips you can think of.

Progress reports ~

This is a useful start http://www.jaunay.com/bdm.html

 

6 Responses to “When did Australian birth certificates become available as extracts?”

  1. Constance Wiebrands June 2, 2016 at 5:08 am #

    Just ask the law librarian, dear 🙂

  2. inthemailbox June 2, 2016 at 5:30 am #

    Because births are registered in each state, you will need to look at the different Acts, and Hansards for those states. I can answer in a general sense about when they stopped being useful however…

    When I was a child, I was given an extract certificate which worked as identification reasonably well (even after I stickytaped it back together). I certainly got my first adult passport with it in the 1980s. But shortly thereafter, the extract was no longer acceptable, and I had to apply for the ‘real’ thing.

    When I look at the fabulous TROVE, I can find a reference to commemorative birth extracts being issued, for free (!), in WA in 1979 and another to them being used for identification at a primary school in 1980. In 1989, extracts were being used by people who had recently undergone transgender surgery, but it was already becoming an issue – http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/120864216?searchTerm=%22birth%20extract%22&searchLimits=sortby=dateDesc. The last reference in TROVE is to 1992.

    • Ruth Baxter June 2, 2016 at 10:11 am #

      Thankyou. We’ve found some mention of them in the 1940’s so I’ll check Hansard before then.

  3. Rachel June 2, 2016 at 7:40 pm #

    When my birth was registered in NSW in the 1970s my parents were given a birth extract and that is all I had until I went to get my learner’s permit in Queensland in the 1990s and it wasn’t accepted. I then had to get a birth certificate so the date of issue of my birth certificate is 20 years after my birth was registered.

    • Ruth Baxter June 2, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

      So interesting. Thanks for sharing Rachel

Leave a Reply

