Librarians on Twitter

6 Jun

Had a great talk to a librarian at MPOW today who is running a Community of Practice and wants to introduce Twitter skills.

I joined Twitter years ago when I went to a VALA conference and was introduced to Twitter as a great tool to discuss presentations as they are occurring. I made a fantastic group of 5-6 friends with the same questioning mind as myself and we enjoyed a whole sublevel of ideas throughout the conference – whilst sitting quietly in separate conference rooms.

For anyone who knows me – anything that helps me sit quietly is a definite boon!

I still use Twitter in this way at conferences, and also as note taking. It’s also expanded to provide a huge professional development role. There are now lists of “librarians on Twitter” you can follow who will keep you up to date with new technologies, events and developments – all in under 140 characters!

I am yet to get organised enough to pull together a Storify after a conference, but this blog has prompted me to try!

Leave a Reply

