Pottery 

19 Jun

Another weekend relaxing post for #blogjune today.
As a chatty, social extrovert I can often forget to give myself some quiet meditative time. For 10 years now I have been taking a pottery class once a week that offers me space for my brain to relax, and a real creative stimulus.

As well as providing me with fabulous barter items to trade with other creative friends, I haven’t had to find a birthday present in the shops for years. 

The pottery school I attend is inspiring as I am surrounded by imaginative people doing different things with the same materials I have; thus continuously sparking new ideas for me. Here’s a gorgeous coilpot handbuilt by my classmate Linda :

In a work context I met the interesting artist Charlotte Watson who was exploring raw components that make up tiles or other manufactured products. After discussing my pottery with her, she mentioned she was looking for broken pottery to teach herself kintsugi as part of her exploration of joining together base materials. Following her exploration I have some of my broken pottery repaired into new beautiful pieces like this: 

The idea of embracing cracks as adding beauty to a new whole, is also a philosophy that helps me look differently at mistakes or challenges in my life. 
Ask yourself next time life seems to have gone wrong, what you learned during the drama and how you might be a more understanding person in future because of that experience.  

4 Responses to “Pottery ”

  1. snail June 19, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

    I love the look of the plate in your last picture! I have vague memories of year 10 woodwork and a teacher showing examples of using colourful putty in cracks in the wood, and varnished over to create interesting items. The idea being to highlight the cracks rather than try and hide them.

    • Ruth Baxter June 20, 2016 at 8:29 am #

      Ooh sounds similar and just as interesting – thanks Snail

  2. jogillespieblog June 23, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    Fantastic! Love the glazing. Also like thinking about transforming something that we would usually see as broken and throw away.

    • Ruth Baxter June 23, 2016 at 9:29 pm #

      I’m so lucky. Our pottery school offers both reduction & oxidation glazes, and a range of effects.

      Yes I love how the flaw has added to the whole to create new beauty. I need to remember this about my own flaws.

Leave a Reply

