Building on #blogjune – collaboration

13 Jun

whilst #blogjune in itself is useful,

(it gets me thinking about something in a positive way every day),

I remind myself each year to try and harness the discipline, creativity and enthusiasm generated from this shared activity into an ongoing collaborative practice. I rarely do follow up for long.

So this year I am looking for something that we can accomodate into busy lives, that skills us by practice, that can overcome geographic distance and is creative. @paulhagon and @malbooth did not seem to find the same level of excitement in #slyjuly as I did (they lack imagination).

So I discussed with @sallyturbitt the idea of sharing professional reading – link here 

I got some lovely feedback from @flexnib and @katedavis – link here

As I learn from doing I thought I may as well make this something to explore on a platform that I need to talk to students about. So I had a look at what we recommend for students as collaboration tools – link here

Then Sally did a wonderful blog post on online meeting forums – link here

Then I cheated and used my tried and tested “get answers quick” trick (crowdsoure from people on Twitter with more diligence than myself) – thread starts here

Possible options to try:

  • Feedly
  • Refworks
  • Evernote (I like this idea as I use this already but haven’t explored it)
  • Trello
  • Wunderlist
  • Google Hangouts
  • Dropbox
  • Blackboard community
  • Yammer group
  • @troveaustralia list of readings (would have advantage of listing all the local libraries others could read the books from)
  • WordPress: Would work with a monthly book review on this blogsite and then everyone else who reads it feeds into the comments
  • Goodreads
  • Librarything

Maybe I should create a #23professionalreadingthings

Anyone want to join me on shared professional reading? Vote for one of the above and say why.
Please add your contact handle in the comments. 

8 Responses to “Building on #blogjune – collaboration”

  1. Sally June 13, 2017 at 9:59 pm #

    I am in! And would like to vote for a group in Librarything or Goodreads (am a member of a few in GR and it works really well). @sallyturbitt (thanks for the shout out!)

    • Ruth Baxter June 13, 2017 at 10:00 pm #

      Oh good. Something already tested will be good

  2. Sally June 13, 2017 at 10:01 pm #

    Also, I like the sound of #23professionalreadingthings 😉

    • Ruth Baxter June 13, 2017 at 10:02 pm #

      Maybe! Only committing to one activity at this point.

  3. Sam Searle June 14, 2017 at 11:03 pm #

    I love this idea. I’d be interested in joining your reading group! I haven’t used Goodreads much for work related things but I would definitely be prepared to give it a whirl! I’m not sure how you set one up but a LinkedIn group might also work OK esp. if everyone was already on LinkedIn.

    • Ruth Baxter June 14, 2017 at 11:30 pm #

      Thanks Sam – great to have you on board. I would have to move past a lot of people’s antipathy to Linked In (including my own) so will firstly explore Goodreads and Dropbox Paper and let you know.

  4. graemeo28 June 15, 2017 at 7:10 am #

    Dear Ruth. Thanks for your initiative. Happy to join in. As I mentioned to Warren https://stainedglasswaterfall.blogspot.com.au/2017/06/trying-new-rss-reader.html I’ve used Feedly for capturing RSS feeds from blogs. Twitter is my daily quick read source. Also particularly during blogjune WordPress.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Professional reading » flexnib - June 14, 2017

    […] been thinking about Ruth’s post about sharing professional reading and how to set up a group, or what platform to use for such a […]

Leave a Reply

