Obsolescence … guard against it.

5 Jun

Today I took my new music cd into work with my cordless headphones. I was excited about using bluetooth technology to dance whilst working, without literally being pulled up (last time I listened to music that inspired dancing at work I almost dragged my screen off the desk as i forgot the headphones cord was joined)

I then realized my current computer no longer has any way to input a cd …

On the weekend when I had contacted a friend about buying her a cd she had replied “lol I have no way to play one”, and I had just assumed that this is an example of modern young things (she is my most up to date technology friend). But it’s me too.

~~~~

Recently my old tv died. I decided this was the perfect opportunity to make a responsible electronic purchase, as previously I was the type to get my friends to recommend something, or just buy the cheapest thing in the store. I am not a natural shopper!

So I made a list of specifications. Effectively I want it

  • to be wall mountable, so under 20 kg (gains me more table space)
  • be 48-50 inches wide (to fit between two existing paintings)
  • to allow me to view Twitter on the same screen as the tv (when I watch #ifyouaretheone on @SBSVICELAND I want to be able to be able to read the subtitles AND my Twitter feed)

Apparently this demanding list of specifications doesn’t exist. (well only the last specification …)

Luckily for me a fellow #ifyouaretheone Twitter member had posted about his smart tv allowing him to do this a few years earlier (2014)

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 10.24.32 PM

So I decided to find a Sony Bravia tv. And I did.

And they don’t have this feature ANYMORE.

In case you think I may be wrong I did contact #SonyAustralia only to be told this feature only appeared in the Sony Bravia B series from 2014-2016.

Bloody obsolescence strikes again. I’ve offered to buy a few friends tv’s and they said No (quite emphatically, apparently its a good tv). So my next step is to start hitting up Cash Converters for old tvs (I tried Sony Australia on eBay and they don’t have any). Or maybe a miracle will work and the old remote Social View button will trigger something on a new model Sony Bravia (yes I know I’m dreaming).

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 10.39.44 PM.png

Anyway …

the point of this rant is to remind us all how important it is that librarians, archivists, digital mediaists (yes I know I made that one up) and anyone holding onto stuff for others to use in the future,

ensure that the format does not end up hiding the content.

One Response to “Obsolescence … guard against it.”

  1. Sally June 8, 2017 at 8:47 pm #

    Hi Ruth, I have thought about this TV all day…the opportunities for maximising TV watching are endless…good luck with your search!

Leave a comment